Keeping Curly Hair Looking Awesome

For better or for worse, I was born with curly hair. At first, I totally disliked it and wished every day that my hair would miraculously straighten itself (I was and continue to be too fussy to be able to spend an hour with a straightener more than once a year). But at some point, I decided to embrace it and learn to work with it! I’ve done a lot of research on the topic, but my go to guide is Curly Hair on Reddit, so if you’re looking for more details or well-researched tips, head over there!

Let conditioner act

Make sure to leave your conditioner on for some time before rinsing it off. Like most products, it needs time to act and to really hydrate your hair. So while you soap up or shave, leave the conditioner on your hair until the end of the shower.

Squish to Condish

I’ll start by saying yes, it’s a funny name but it’s also kind of genius… Anyways, this method is one of many ways to let conditioner really work its magic. Instead of washing it all off, you have to cup your hands and fill them with water, scrunching a portion of your curls from the bottom up. Repeat with all your hair and 2-3 times more. This method will not completely remove all the conditioner but that’s a good thing. Read more about it here.

Try plopping

This method of drying hair will not only cut down on drying time but also reduce frizz. You’ll need a microfiber towel or simply a t-shirt to do this. Apply all your preferred hair products and lay out the towel or t-shirt or a flat surface. If using a towel, fold it so it is a long rectangle. Now, this is the tricky part. Lay all your hair on the center of the towel and bring the towel up over the nape of your neck. Then grab the ends, twisting them back. Tie a knot in the back of your head with the ends and you’re done. If you prefer visuals, here is an easy step-by-step guide with pictures.

Stop brushing

Brushes create a lot of frizz, especially when used on dry hair. A wooden, wide tooth comb is fine, or you can just use your fingers in the shower. Trust me, it’s not as difficult as it sounds if you do it when you have conditioner on.

Look into gel

I used to think gel would only give me that horrid wet, crunchy look so I strictly stayed away it from it at all costs. However, once I tried it out, I liked the way it made my curls look. I bought a L’Oreal Studio gel that said it would give hair a natural look (versus the countless ones that pictured a man that looked straight out of the early 2000s with frosted tips and terrible hair).

Image source: 1

Leave a Reply

