November Favorites

I know that November is far from over, but I’m eager to share what I’ve been loving this month! Although I haven’t been keen on the political panorama lately, there have been some good things this month, so I think it’s more important than ever to focus on the positive. Here are my November favorites:

Clothes and Accessories

img_20161112_110757

Although I haven’t been doing much shopping, I have acquired a few pieces that I am absolutely in love with.

img_20161112_110847

Let’s start with this H&M midi dress. I got it from a clearance rack for 25€, half of its original price. Even though I loved the off-shoulder style, I had never seen it on something I would actually wear. I wasn’t too sure when I tried this on, as I usually go for empire waists and this one is a bit more fitted, but it was so cute I couldn’t resist. It is quite long, which I do like (especially for windy summer days) and the armholes aren’t super loose, so I’m hoping it won’t be too bad when I actually wear it.

img_20161112_110806

This watch from Parfois was also on sale when I bought it for 12€. It’s really pretty in my opinion and I love that the band is a nice matte sort of plastic because past faux leather ones started chipping and flaking. The conservative color scheme makes it easy to match with any outfit and I’ve got no complaints so far.

img_20161112_110827

Finally, this plaid scarf from Primark cost me 4£. This kind of blanket scarf seems to be in very store this season, but the prices are crazy. I’m not going to pay 20€ for a scarf. So when I spotted this one at Primark in Birmingham, I knew I had to buy it (especially since 90% of my clothes matches with its color scheme). Now, I’m not a big fan of Primark. One of the t-shirts I bought there already had considerable pilling after the first wash and the cute neon pink notebook I got there disembodied after less than 15 days of use- with its spine unsticking from the hard cover. I know I know, you get what you pay for. I’m hoping this scarf will last at least one winter because I love it.

Books and Music

img_20161112_110228

Delusions of Gender: How Our Minds, Society and Neurosexism Create Difference by Cordelia Fine is truly an interesting read. In it, Fine describes how sexism is prevalent in our society and, specifically, in neuroscience. Now, that might sound extremely boring, but the truth is that it’s closer to our daily lives than you might think. If you’ve ever heard that males are better in math, women are more emotional or that men and women are simply unequal because of biology, you should take a look in this book. With an ample bibliography backing it up and an upbeat tone, this book is equal parts educational and entertaining. However, be warned, Delusions of Gender does contain a lot of scientific jargon and some complex neuroscientific data that might not make it a relaxing read.

As for music, Passenger’s new album Young as the Morning Old as the Sea has been on constant replay, especially “Fool’s Gold”, “Home” and “Beautiful Birds”, in which he is joined by Birdy. The soft acoustic melodies are perfect for chilling out but the heartfelt lyrics are what made me fall in love with them. I would definitely recommend giving them a listen.

Other

img_20161112_105918

After many years of using this perfume, Acqua di Gioia by Giorgio Armani, I’ve finished the 100mL bottle! Luckily, I got a replacement as my graduation gift because it’s my favorite fragrance and the only one I wear. It’s fresh and floral, with a citrus touch and it lasts a long time. It is quite pricey, but it’s worth it in my opinion because of how long the bottle lasted (close to 5 years).

img_20161112_110041

In order to add some more decoration to my room, I bought these fake flowers and milk bottle at Ikea. I absolutely love going to Ikea and could browse for hours! The flowers were each 1€ and the bottle 2€. I chose them because they match my duvet, but there were so many others to choose from.

img_20161112_110203

To complete this little area of my bedroom, I bought a candle from Casa for 1€. The scent is lemongrass and it comes in a cute glass container (which is resistant to falls, as I embarrassingly  found out in the store). I haven’t lit it yet but I’m not expecting it to be that great since it was so cheap. At least it looks cute, though!

One thought on “November Favorites

Leave a Reply

