Organize with Me | Part 1

It’s a new year and the perfect time to get more organized. I’m sure all of us want to get down to making our lives a little bit tidier, but there’s often a little voice in our heads holding us back. Where would you even start? Aren’t there just too many things to organize? Wouldn’t you rather binge-watch a series on Netflix? Yes, that voice knows our weaknesses.

That’s why I thought it would be interesting to organize together! Every 15 days or so (maybe less), I will propose something to organize. My aim is to target small things that we might overlook when doing regular old cleaning and organizing, little tasks that I always seem to leave “to do” (so don’t expect for them to be too time-consuming). I’ll be doing it too (that’s why it’s called Organize with Me, after all), so I am going to try to think of the best and most efficient way to do each one, although if you participate I would love to hear some feedback and your own tips!

Today’s target: receipts

I seem to have receipts everywhere: in my purse, in my wallet, in my desk… The worst part is that most of them are of no use anymore, as I can’t return the item anymore either because I’ve worn it or because the 30 day limit has expired.

The first step is to locate them all. It will give you an idea of the amount of work you have. The most common places to have them are, like I’ve mentioned before, your wallet, your purse or backpack and your car.

Next, sort them into the ones you need and those that can be thrown out. Keep in mind that some receipts contain warranties, so it’s important you keep them in a safe place (in a binder, folder or simply taped on the pages of a notebook). For those receipts, it’s a good idea to keep a photocopy or a scan on your computer in case the ink fades and because having a backup is always a good thing!

Store them all in one place (which can be divided according to types of items) so you know where to find them in case you ever need them. Remember to clean it out regularly to avoid accumulating receipts all over again as well as not taking receipts with you when you don’t really need them. (If you’re the kind of person that likes to track spending through receipts, it’s important that you do this even more frequently, as they can and will accumulate quickly).

And finally, remember to recycle! It’s never too late to help the Earth out a little bit.

Let me know if you’ve accepted the organizing challenge and how the receipt-cleaning experience went in the comments!

Image credit: Jazmin Quaynor
2 thoughts on “Organize with Me | Part 1

Leave a Reply

