The Sunscreens I’ve Tried and What I Thought of Them

As you may already know, it’s very beneficial to wear sunscreen every day. Not only will it prevent premature aging but also any other kind of skin damage the sun can cause. Sure, it does add yet another step to your morning routine, but your skin will thank you. The trick is to find the sunscreen that’s right for you. Maybe you want a mattifying one or perhaps one that combats acne. The only way to find your holy grail sunscreen is to try different ones out. During the process, you’ll start to realize what qualities you like and which other you don’t, narrowing your search more and more. Here are the ones I’ve tried so far and my honest opinions on them:

Vichy Capital Soleil Mattifying Face Fluid Dry Touch SPF 50

editIMG_20170114_130317.jpg

What it claims:

  • Mexoryl®-based photostable, broad spectrum UVA and UVB filtering system with added long UVA protection
  • Mattifying formula to prevent against shine
  • No Parabens
Source: vichy.co.uk

White cast: Minimal

Texture: Cream texture, meaning it is quite thick and not the most blendable. Although I did want to get a lighter one while I was going through this tube, it didn’t necessarily bother me too much.

Fragrance: Typical sunscreen smell

Price: around 18€ for 50 mL (The prices I give are what I paid for them. They might not be accurate or up-to-date.)

La Roche Posay Anthelios XL Dry Touch Gel-Cream SPF 50

What it claims:

  • For fair and sensitive skin
  • Ideal for oily/combination skin
  • Very high, broad, photostable UVA/UVB protection
  • Double anti-shine action, immediate absorption, ultra-dry finish, no white marks and water resistant

White cast: I do recall having to blend it quite a lot for the white marks to go away.

Texture: Cream

Fragrance: Typical sunscreen smell

This sunscreen came with a pump, which was handy when there was a lot of product inside the tube . When I was almost finished with it, it felt like it wasn’t really practical to get the last of it out.

Avène Very High Protection Cream SPF 50+

What it claims:

  • Efficient, high quality and reliable suncare.
  • Effective against both UVB and UVA rays.
  • Paraben-free
  • VERY water-resistant
  • 100% photostable
  • Invisible, non-oily texture
  • Specially designed tube for particularly pleasant application
Source: avene.co.uk

White cast: Minimal

Texture: Cream

Fragrance: The smell of this isn’t the typical sunscreen smell, but I can’t quite put my finger on what it smells like. One of my sisters said it smelled “natural”, the other just described it as a strange smell and it lingers on the skin.

Bioderma Photoderm Cream SPF 50+

editimg_20170114_130109

What it claims:

  • Guarantees optimum UVA/UVB protection against the harmful effects of the sun (sunburn, sun intolerance, etc.)
  • Activates the skin’s natural defences, protects from risks of cellular damage and combats premature cutaneous ageing: Cellular Bioprotection biological patent
  • Smooth creamy texture, colourless upon application, no greasy effect, no white traces
  • Fragrance-free, waterproof, paraben-free, photostable, non-comedogenic, hypoallergenic
Source: bioderma.com

White cast: Minimal, if any

Texture: Very liquid, meaning it blends in smoothly. Although it being runny can make you get more out of the tube than you might need, the overall finish it leaves is so nice that I can ignore that.

Fragrance: Much like it says on the packaging, it has no fragrance really. However, when you apply it, it smells like glue to me, but luckily it’s only when it’s wet. Being one of the only sunscreens that doesn’t have that typical tourist-at-the-beach smell makes this one a definite winner for me.

Price: around 15€ for 40mL

3 thoughts on “The Sunscreens I’ve Tried and What I Thought of Them

  1. It hasn’t been that long since I realized I should wear sunscreen every day so that’s why I haven’t tried that many. I am really liking the Bioderma one though so I might (finally) rebuy one! Have you found your holy grail sunscreen yet?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

