My Day & Night Skincare Routine

Finding the right skincare routine can be a long process. Not only do you have to read reviews and listen to recommendations, but also try products out on your skin and see if it’s a god fit. Although my skin isn’t the best, I’ve found a routine that works for it, keeping imperfections to a minimum. My skin is combination, leaning more towards dry. I’ve never really had a problem with acne (luckily) but I do tend to break out in the chin area and I’m still researching how to minimize dark circles (like I said, a never-ending process!). Keeping all this in mind, here are the products I use daily:

Day

Step 1: Cleansing

In the morning, I simply wash my face with water. I don’t really feel like it’s necessary to do a deeper cleanse.

Step 2: Moisturizing

IMG_20170319_124758edit

The face cream I use is the Sebamed Hydrating Cream. It claims to have an ideal pH (5.5) and to be adequate for sensitive skin. Although it feels a bit greasy at first, it settles into the skin nicely. The smell is a bit clinical, but that’s due to the fact that it doesn’t have a fragrance so I can deal with it.

Step 3: Sunscreen

Bioderma’s Photoderm Max SPF 50 is the current sunscreen I’m using. Sunscreen can seem like an unnecessary hassle, but you really should be using it to protect your skin daily. If you are exfoliating your face, it is very important that you do not skip this step! IF you want to read  my review of this Bioderma sunscreen (as well as others I’ve tried), click here.

IMG_20170319_125018edit

Night

Step 1: Cleansing

IMG_20170319_125103edit

To clean my face at night, I have recently started using Cetaphil’s Cleansing Lotion. So far, I really like the fact that it has no soap (therefore no foam) and it leaves skin feeling very soft after you wipe or rinse it off. It has no fragrance and just feels very gentle. It claims to remove makeup, although I had read online that some people use an oil-based makeup remover beforehand to cleanse properly. Since I don’t wear that much makeup, it hasn’t been a problem for me at all.

Step 2: Exfoliation

IMG_20170319_124540edit

This exfoliating gel, Neostrata’s Gel Plus Salicylic Refine (15 AHA), was recommended by my dermatologist when I was having more breakouts than usual around my mouth. I use this every other night or so and use it overnight, as it does make your face more photosensitive. After applying a thin layer on my chin, nose and forehead, it feels a little hard but, in the morning, after washing my face, my skin feels amazing. In order for it to act properly, leave it on for about 20 minutes before moisturizing.

Step 3: Moisturizing

This step involves the same moisturizer as in the morning.

Step 4: Spot treatment

IMG_20170319_124833edit

If I’m about to get any pimple, I use Clinique’s Anti-Blemish Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel. It is great at stopping breakouts before they’ve developed and, to a lesser extent, once they are already formed. It dries clear, which is nice. The small tube lasts a long time so, despite its high price tag, it is worth it.

What’s your skincare routine like? Are there any skincare. products you love and absolutely recommend?

Leave a Reply

