Organize With Me | Part 4 | Clothes Closet

Check out the previous posts in this collection:
Organize With Me | Part 1 | Receipts
Organize With Me | Part 2 | Computer Files
Organize With Me | Part 3 | The Junk Drawer

Although it  may seem that this post’s challenge, your clothes closet, implies a lot more work than the previous tasks in this collection, it isn’t that bad, trust me. I’ve been reading The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo, which I have mentioned before and it has really inspired me to reorganize my closet. Now, before I begin, let me just say that I am trying to follow the KonMari method’s general principles, but I am also adapting it.

This clothes closet organization can start with just one shelf or one drawer. I am trying this method of organization that I’m about to explain for just the shelf with my tops. I’m going to see how it goes and then assess if I should reorganize my entire closet. I think this is a great way to start and not to overwhelm yourself.

You may ask, why did I feel the need to reorganize?

I kept my tops folded in three pretty tall piles, separated by season. The first pile contained the thicker sweaters and knits, the middle had the long sleeves and the final one, t-shirts and short tops. The categorization worked well, but the piles were a nightmare. Every time I needed to dig something out from the middle or bottom, the entire thing would get ruined. I also felt like some tops were getting pushed backwards because of this and becoming really, really wrinkled.

How does one reorganize using the KonMari method?

Kondo believes piles aren’t the best way to store your clothes and prefers keeping things like tops in drawers. That way, the items on the bottom of the pile don’t suffer the strain from the weight of those above and lasts longer in good shape. Seeing as I have shelves, I simply applied the same principles of folding and organizing to the shelves.

(Before you start organizing, don’t forget to assess if all your clothing items actually make you happy and, if they don’t, donate them!) The folding consist of basically rolling up your clothes in a neat way. I would advise Googling for images of how it’s done because I don’t think I can explain it simply and make sense. It’s very simple to do, though. Once you’ve got that down, all you have to do is place the rolls according their heaviness/lightness and color. The heavier items, like knits and thick sweaters, should be placed on the left as well as darker colors, while on the right you should place lighter fabrics and colors. You can find a few pictures of how your closet will look over at this blog.

I only did my tops shelf so far and I have a front and a back row of tops in one shelf because I have a lot of clothes. I decided to place the more wintery tops in the back row and the more summery ones at the front. Since the front row has smaller items, it’s not hard to see the back row at all.

At first it will seem very weird, but so far it’s looking as organized as the first day I did it, which is a good sign! I can see all the tops I own at a glance and it’s no longer a problem when I’m undecided on what to wear and need to pluck out a few different pieces. The color organization also makes it really easy to find a specific top.

Overall, I’m very happy with the result. I was very skeptical at first because the neat piles really do look nice and store-like, but I much prefer having everything organized. This same method can be used for practically any other item of clothing (except those that need hanging, of course). I’m definitely considering giving it a try for the rest of my shelves in the future!

Let me know if you try it out and how it goes!

Leave a Reply

