April Favorites

April has been a great, sunny month in which I’ve been pretty busy, come to think of it. Before I go on to share my favorites for this month, I’m going to go ahead and remind you that nothing in this post is sponsored in case there are any doubts (with my heavy brand name-dropping I understand you might think so but I’m just trying to be informative!). Like you can read in my disclaimer found on the top menu, anything and everything that is sponsored (if that ever happens) will be clearly signaled.

H&M Polka Dot Midi Dress

IMG_20170426_191715edit

I’ve really been into Instagrammers that dress in a vintage/retro style and when I saw this midi dress at H&M, I fell in love with it. It’s quite long, although it’s not long enough to be a maxi dress on me. I had to get a few sizes below my usual because the top part was really big and loose on me. Since the dress is loose and then you have to tighten it with the belt incorporated, it wasn’t an issue for the rest of the fit to get a few sizes smaller. The cut is really cute and the skirt features a slit to make it a bit modern. I can’t wait to wear this when it gets warmer!

Victoria Sponge Cake

This is kind of a strange thing to include in my April favorites, I know, but I just loved the outcome of this cake so much that I have to share it. It was my first time making a Victoria Sponge Cake and the reason I wanted to try it out was because I had seen the recipe on some grocery bag in England while I was waiting in line at the airport. I had a lot of time to stare into space and the cute drawings on the bag called my attention. Random as it was, it made me discover how good this cake is and it’s so easy. I have been using this recipe on BBC Good Food. The first step is to basically throw all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk. How much easier can it get? Instead of separating the batter into two to make the sandwich, the times I’ve made it I’ve just put it all in one cake tin and left it 5 to 10 minutes more in the oven. Then, I added what was supposed to be the filling to the top and I’m sure it tastes just as good as the original way.

1984 by George Orwell

IMG_20170426_192302edit

I won’t go into a review of 1984 because it’s so complex that I don’t think I could do it justice. This isn’t my first time reading it, but revisiting it has been completely worth it. Apart from the many truths about society contained in it, the edition I bought is amazing. I got it from The Book Depository, which I love because it has free shipping worldwide. As you can see in the pictures, the title has been “censured” and only against the light can you see that the title and author is actually visible in the black boxes. I have to say that it was easier to see them when I first bought it, so maybe it’s wearing away somehow… Either way, like they say, what’s inside is more important!

IMG_20170426_192323edit

Music

I can’t write about my favorites this month without mentioning all the cool new music I’ve been hearing. I’ve discovered the English band Blossoms, which Spotify very aptly recommended. Their style is indie pop/rock and my favorite songs so far are “Honey Sweet” and “Blown Rose” (and let me just say that it was very hard to pick just two). I’ve really been digging Paramore‘s new style with “Hard Times” as well. Although I can’t say it’s one of their best songs, “Beautiful Ones” by Hurts is very catchy but I’m eagerly waiting for their album for tracks that I will absolutely love, like with their previous releases.

Doodle Note-Taking

I’ve always been a fan of visually-interesting notes and bullet journals, but recently I’ve been wanting to try it out more than ever. These notes are my summaries of the main points of The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo (find out how to organize your clothes the KonMari way here).

Rose String Lights

IMG_20170426_192121edit

A very spring-y new addition to my room, thanks to my older sister who generously donated them. They’re from Primark but they are of good quality, surprisingly. The roses are made from thick fabric and the lights are just yellow, which I prefer to the many multicolored ones I’ve come across when searching for string lights. The light is more of a pleasant glow that give a room a warmer atmosphere.

What have you been loving this month? Let me know in the comments below!
Leave a Reply

